Day 179/366 – John Doe/1200 Hobos. Environmental Chemist & DJ from Cincinnati. Air Jordan IV Retro’s on his feet.

→ John Doe came across 366daysofkicks, sent a note my way via the contact form and shared his story! It’s a small sneaker world, after all. Thanks again, John Doe! I have to admit that I’m quite envious of your clean J’s. 🙂

Name: John Doe/1200 Hobos

Hometown/Current city: Cincinnati, OH (grew up in Germany, California, Florida, and the Philippines)

Education: BS Natural Sciences/Chemistry, University of Cincinnati • Occupation: Environmental Chemist / (DJ)

What makes you, YOU? “Nerdiness for all things I like beyond sneakers: ’90s hip-hop, grammar, fitteds, science, The Wire, food. I’m proud to have made a voice for myself through DJing. Check out his website. Most people know me as John Doe from the 1200 Hobos DJ crew. I don’t make my living from music, but from my job in the science field. There are some DJs out there who have regular jobs!”

Sneakers have always been John Doe’s staple. He owns ~20 pairs and has them on a daily rotation. Mainly Air Max (Light/90/95), AF1’s and Jordan Retro’s. Favorites? “The AF1s (white with the gum sole) – Classic! or the Jordan IX, OG colorway – Comfortable. Fit really well.” Favorite place to shop for kicks? “Locally – Champs Sports and FootAction.”

Kicks on John Doe’s feet: Air Jordan 4 (IV) Retro’s in White/Black (Cement)

“I had been waiting over 20 years for these. I lived overseas and couldn’t get them in 1989, and I missed out when they were re-released in 1999. When I found out the IV’s were being released this year, I made sure I would get a pair. I purchased my first pair on February 18, 2012, 12:37 a.m. (FootAction, Cincinnati) and my second pair on February 18, 2012. 8:48 a.m. (Champs Sports, Cincinnati). I love the clean design, simple color way and how all the individual details simply work together. From the wings to the netting, to the heel tab to the cement on the midsole!” Most memorable moment in these kicks? “I wore these the day of the release to a University of Cincinnati / Seton Hall basketball game. My buddies who were with me at the game were jealous, but they didn’t want to wait in line with me the night before!”

Anything else you’d like to share? “Thanks for letting me be a part of 366daysofkicks!”

Leave a Reply

